>Date Night

>Hello bloggies! Happy Friday! Today is finally nice weather here in Michigan and starting now the fun doesn’t stop until Sunday night. Yippee!

As you know Adam & I had a date night last night. It was wonderful! Before I could go on my date, I had to eat a smoothie for some energy.

glass bought at the dollar store (; 

Chocolate covered strawberry? Omnom! (Yesterday I used a recycled picture for it. So I figured today I would treat you guys to the real thing (; )

Then I had to get myself all fancified….

Tuck tummy, turn to the side, stick out butt…
it’s all about angles people (;

My love & I. Isn’t he handsome?

He did have a mohawk, but he is making a speech for an event at his college so he temporarily cut it off. It’ll be back soon don’t fret (; He looks just like Puck on glee with it!

Outback was basically the devil when I was a vegetarian. Now I am a pescatarian, however, and I can eat there! I had their delicious special, Mahi!

I devoured this. It had the texture of chicken, but it tasted different #obvs. It was so good. I had steamed veggies on the side & rice!

Fun fact: Adam owns a very small piece of royal land in Scotland. This makes him a Lord of Scotland. Crazy isn’t it?! He has his own business cards that he leaves places (like at Outback). Unfortunately the US won’t recognize him as a Lord unless he renounces his citizenship in the US and only claims Scotland citizenship… Anywhere else though? Why Hello, Lord Adam.

That’s right, I’m the girlfriend of a Lord
(that would be the SUN shining on my face)

After dinner Adam & I watched some of The Office. It’s definitely one of my favorite shows (: [USA version] I think it’s so funny; I love the dry humor!

Of course it’s not a date night without chocolate. I’m not sure why, but it’s just not. So at dinner we decided it was time to bake! Bake what though…..

[Chocolate Strawberry Upside Down Cake]*

Ingredients

  • 1 (21 ounce) can cherry pie filling 21 oz (a little over 1 pckg) fresh strawberries blended (:
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Notice that this recipe is dairy and egg free!

Directions

1.) Spread pie filling strawberry sauce evenly in the bottom of a greased 9×13 inch pan.



In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.


  1. In another bowl combine water, oil, vinegar, and vanilla. Add these liquid ingredients to the flour mixture all at once. Stir until just moistened. Pour the batter evenly over the cherry pie filling.

Note: Do not use a bowl with a hole in the bottom.
BAD IDEA.

  1. Bake in a preheated 350 degrees F ( 175 degrees C) oven for 30 to 35 minutes.


  1. Let cake cool for 10 minutes in pan then invert cake onto a serving dish and continue to cool.
Warning: Your kitchen will smell ahhmazing
So we didn’t end up inverting it because we had nothing to invert it to. But it probably would have inverted just fine (: Also, dairy and egg free means….

Licking the spoon!!!
Not only was the batter chocolate heaven, but the cake was spectacular. It tasted like a cake brownie. The warm strawberry base… Oh my gosh. It did not get any better than that. Fresh fruit and chocolate… What more could you want?!

It looks like a hot mess.
A hot, delicious, fudgey, mess.

Mmmmmmmmm
You can find the recipe here!
If you bake anything this week, please bake this. Your sweet tooth, taste buds, and soul will thank you. If you send some to me, I will probably also thank you.
I may or may not have eaten half the pan a lot of this. Adam finds it sexy that I eat a lot. Who would’ve guessed?
One of my new favorite bloggers is Molly over at A Midwestern Touch. She’s doing a new link-up (like WIAW!) called Find your happiness Friday. Uhm, talk about a great idea?
So what is making me find happiness today?
[Tea Time: Relax, Breathe]*
Have a happy Friday bloggies! I love your comments, and even those of you who simply read and lurk. You guys make my day, and I’m thankful for you (:

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “>Date Night

  1. >AHHH THAT LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! u are so pretty!

  2. >I love your dress!!!I tweeted to you that your package left via fed ex today! Enjoy, sweetie! πŸ™‚

  3. >Hi! Just found your blog recently and thought I'd show my ..er, face? Haha, nevermind the technicalities, just saying Hi and that I absolutely love your posts. I want to become an R.D., too! That smoothie looks delicious up top. Gotta love $1 glasses, too πŸ™‚ I'm pretty much drooling over that cake — looks like a yummy ooey gooey brownie made even better with strawberries. de-lish. I'll have to try that one sometime!!

  4. >Happy Friday! Your smoothie looked awesome and you and Adam (or should I say Lord Adam) look adorable πŸ™‚

  5. >oh my DELICIOUS! are you kidding me?! that looks AMAZINNNG!!!

  6. >You are gorggeous and you look HOT in that dress girl, angles or no angles πŸ™‚ sound like your boyf is totally a keeper too πŸ˜‰ <3n

Leave a Reply

