>How Adam & I Met…

>TGIF! Woohoo!


I love Fridays. The weekend is stretched out before me, filled with endless possibilities. Monday is far off in the distance, almost invisible to the naked eye. I’m filled with the excitement of having freedom to do whatever I want, whenever I want. I can do my homework in whatever order I choose, or not do it at all (although this makes Sundays pretty rough). It is time for me to sort through the  business of the week, and take some time off.

I was happy to get a nice treadmill workout in. I warmed up for 5 minutes and then alternated between 4.5 at 8 incline and 8 at 0 incline. This was my first time trying an interval workout and it sure kicked my butt! Wow! I hope I’m not too sore tomorrow  because I plan to wake up, eat up, suit up, and hit the gym 😉
Post-workout I had a yummy trail mix snack…
I ❤ my trail mix

It was a pretty chill night after that, I relaxed for a bit. I also received my physics exam score. For some reason beyond my comprehension, I did well. It’s weird how I can feel so bad about an exam, and then do well. Whereas when I failed, I didn’t think I failed… Funny how that works out. I feel good that I didn’t completely let my feelings control me though since everything ended up working out in the end. I’m thanking God for this one 😉
I had a scrumptious dinner with Joanna…

I couldn’t wait to eat the melon. Too good!

I ate my trail mix fix at 5, so I wasn’t feeling super hungry. So later when I did feel hungry again…

Greek yogurt and raisins. YUM!

I love raisins and I can’t believe I didn’t think of this combo before! It was very delicious. The sweet raisins complemented the tart yogurt perfectly.
After mulling over where I wanted to go with this post, I decided on the story of how Adam and I met. We’ve actually had many chances to meet one another. First, we went to the same church as little kids. We both have tiles on the wall of the church when it was being built. We were in the same class painting our tiles! He also was a part of a dance performance that my best friend was in (that I saw). He was taught by my best friend’s dad in high school. He also lives about 5 minutes away from said friend. He worked the drive-thru every Friday night my junior year when I went to Fazoli’s before a cross country team movie night. Yet it never happened.
We met by fate. I 100% believe that God spent a lot of effort planning our meeting 😉 First, I decided on a whim to get Fazoli’s the night before two-a-days started as a “celebration” (aka I can’t believe two-a-days are starting I need carbs to cope with this). So I went. About this time, Adam was asked by his manager to man drive-thru. About 5 minutes later, I was lining up to place my order. That was when we met, when I gave him the money for my Fazoli’s food. Dramatic, isn’t it? I thought he was so attractive and I wanted to talk to him. So I did what any girl would do. “What does your name tag say?” You see, I couldn’t read it. Of course I said this flirtatiously. I mean, I looked so gosh darn sexy after my 6 mile run at practice. He replied with, “Adam” and gave me my food. Then he asked, “Do you want a lemon ice? We’ve got an extra one here.” Okay, so in my defense, he did not seem like he was flirting. I mean he didn’t even ask my name! Plus, I already had ordered a lemonade. So I figured I would be a good Samaritan and let the person behind me take it. I politely replied, “No thank you,” and he said, “Okay have a great day,” and the window closed. I drove off feeling rejected, but I shook it off.
Two weeks later, I received a facebook request from none other than… Adam! Of course I had to stalk his pictures to make sure he wasn’t a 50 year old man creeping on me… then I accepted 🙂 I instantly messaged him with an enthusiastic, “You’re the guy from Fazoli’s!!!!!” Maybe I came on a little too strong. Lucky for me, Adam found it endearing and we began talking. Turns out, I didn’t have any cash that Tuesday when I went through the drive-thru and I was forced to use my card. That’s where he got my name! (Which is a little creepy in retrospect but since we’re dating it’s cute.)
After some talking, we instantly clicked. I visited him at work, and we exchanged numbers. Texting conversations ensued. Then, being the ambitious girl that I am, I asked him to go to sushi with me. I love sushi, and he had never tried it. So we went, talked, and had fun. My plans ended up disappearing for the next day and we were able to hang out again (at his request ;)). This was much more a date. We saw District 9 (great date movie?), got ice cream, and then he took me to Cascades, a giant man made colorful waterfall. We sat at the top talking and, after some prompting, he put his arm around me (inwardly, I had a panic attack of joy). We shared our first kiss here 🙂 He took me back to my car at the movies and we ended the night. We started dating two weeks later.
The colors change too 🙂
Unfortunately, we ended up breaking up after a little over two months. I was going through a lot of issues with my ex-boyfriend, and I was extremely confused. Along came December and I realized everything I had lost. The winter was not a good time for me.
Fortunately, Adam had the urge to reach out and contact me. Although he had been dating someone else, it was long-distance and didn’t work out. I had conveniently just been left by a new interest a few days prior, and I was over him (he wasn’t one of my better choices…). So then we had two late night conversations. On Saturday, I was invited to come through the Fazoli’s drive-thru for none other than… a lemon ice 🙂 As soon as I saw him, all of my feelings rushed back. The next day, while we were texting I mentioned how I didn’t have anyone to go to church with. Even though he had never been to a Catholic church (I’m just Christian but I am connected to the Catholic community through my high school), he somehow ended up agreeing to go with me. I gave him a hug when I saw him and it was heaven. He smelled exactly the same (yes, weird, but I like smells) and he hugged the same and it was wonderful 🙂 We went to church, and then grabbed dinner at Applebees. 
Neither of us expected dinner to go as it did. I thought we would reconnect as friends. Instead, after a lovely meal, he ended up asking me to get back together. I didn’t know what to say. My heart said yes but my mind said, “Slow down!” I went with my heart. (One of my best decisions ever.) I asked him if he realized I was going to leave for school in six months, and that would mean leaving him. He agreed anyways. 
Our six-month ❤
So that’s the story. A bit long-winded, but it’s one I treasure. Obviously we didn’t break up when I left for college 😉 So many things in our relationship have come from chance. I firmly believe that God put him in my life for a reason. We complement one another in so many ways. BUT I have rambled enough for one post 🙂 I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed remembering it.
I love him. 🙂
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

