>Ketchup

>I have been a very busy girl lately! Here are some of the highlights of the past week….

I made an amazing pizza bagel for lunch on Thursday afternoon. The dining hall had a bunch of printed out suggestions, so I grabbed a small bowl of pizza sauce and some swiss cheese. I toasted the bagel for a little bit first to give it a crispy-ness 🙂
It may look plain but it was super yummy!

On Friday I felt like I was running from one thing to another all day. I began with class, hopped in the car and my dad & I went to the local community college back home for an interview (summer job?!). I have to see if I can transfer a biology class here, because I’m not taking enough summer credits to get the job. We’ll see how it all works out! -crosses fingers-
Then we drove home and after scarfing down some delicious sushi, I headed over to my family’s restaurant. It was lent fish-fry and you can bet we were busy! My mom, the other waitress, and the bartender all busted their butts to pull off a successful night! I did as much as I could, but I was still a little rusty since I haven’t worked since last summer. It was a hectic few hours and then I finally left for my Christmas-light-covered living room 🙂
Although he was late, I was very excited to see my boyfriend when he arrived around 10:30pm. I thought that by the time we had been dating for a year, some of the newness of our relationship would have worn off. Instead, I am happier to see him now than ever, and he still gives me butterflies sometimes (yes our whole relationship is that cheesy). We spent the night together watching television (the Office!!) and hanging out.
Saturday was another baking adventure!! This time: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread. 
Sugar is actually a wet ingredient!

I am a happy baker 🙂

We tried mashing the bananas with a spoon, then a spatula, and then finally we gave up and threw the mixture into the blender. (My family doesn’t have a food processor.)

 Even the batter smelled good…

Adam isn’t a huge fan of nutty banana bread, and chocolate chips was a great compromise 😉

I was cheesin’ it a little for the picture… ;D

Turns out our oven bakes at 25 degrees higher than the knob says. Fortunately I found this out before we burnt our bread 🙂 We adapted by taking it out a little earlier than the recipe called for.
Believe it or not I had intentions to take a lovely picture of the finished product…. But then I was too tempted and before I knew it half the loaf was gone! So here’s an impromptu picture after I took the remaining bread back to college with me 🙂

It was delicious.
The recipe we used is: 
Easy-On-Your Conscience Banana Bread
(10 servings)
Ingredients
Pam, or other oil spray
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 Tbsp olive or canola oil
¼ cup honey
¼ cup sugar
2 large eggs
3 large bananas, very ripe, almost rotten, mashed
1½ cups all-purpose flour
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
(1/2  cup walnuts, pecans, ground 
flax or chocolate chips, optional)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a bread pan (12 X 4 ½ X 2 ½) with an oil spray.
Combine the wet ingredients and blend thoroughly.

If mixing by hand, separately mix the dry ingredients.
Add dry ingredients to wet ones. 
Blend.
Bake for 1 hour. Test for doneness using a toothpick or skewer (if it comes out wet, bake for another 5 mins and retest).
Courtesy of  : Drop It and Eat  🙂

When I returned to AA, I had a lovely surprise waiting for me at the mail room….

My Larabar order arrived!

16 flavor variety pack? Sign me up. I ordered these a week and half ago and I’m so excited that they arrived! There are so many flavors and I can’t wait to try them all :] They have so few ingredients and make such a yummy snack. I like the texture a lot as well because I’m obsessed with dried fruit.
Today, unfortunately, was tater tot day at work. It wasn’t very fun 😦 I am thinking about taking my next Sunday shift off to give myself a break to get homework done since it falls on the weekend before the first exam week :/ (I’ll probably be scrambling to get my physics final project done…) 
Overall the weekend was a success. I felt sick last night and that has lingered over to today. I feel like I’ve been fighting a bug for weeks now. (It’s like a cockroach, it just won’t die!…..bad joke I know.) I’ve been feeling really nauseous. I’m going to try to watch what I eat the next few days and drink lots of water to cleanse my system. Here’s to health!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

