>The Mental Marathon

>

The Ten Principles of Intuitive Eating
1. Reject the Diet Mentality
2. Honor Your Hunger
3. Make Peace with Food
4. Challenge the Food Police
5. Respect your Fullness
6. Discover your Satisfaction Factor
7. Honor your Feelings Without Food
8. Respect Your Body
9. Exercise
10. Honor Your Health
*This is from Intuitive Eating by Evelyn Tribole MS,RD and Elyse Resch MS,RD,FADA.
I stumbled upon these while reading Run Eat Repeat on my blog roll. I’m excited to explore each of these. I can definitely say I’ve violated every rule at least… a  1284937289493 times (give or take two). After thinking about it, the amount of energy I spend on counting calories, criticizing my body, and dictating which foods are “allowed” versus “DON’T EAT THAT IT’S SO FATTENING!” is probably more taxing than running a marathon.
If I put as much effort into eating healthy and exercising as I did into negative/pessimistic thoughts, I’d be a health guru. As everyone knows though, it’s not easy.

I dilly-dally. I procrastinate. I sneak around food, and feel bad after eating chocolate. My body is constantly on my mind (in an unhealthy way). I think maybe my goal this Lenten season shouldn’t be “No eating after 8:30” or “no sweets”. It should be to treat my body better, and to treat me better.

Have you ever heard the phrase, “Treat yourself as you treat your best friends”? It’s all about honesty and respect. You will always tell your best friends the truth, but it’s in the nicest, most respectful way possible. Would you ever call your best friend fat? ugly? chubby? NO! Why? Because you care about them. I need to start caring about myself. If I could free up some of this mental capacity I waste on negative body image, maybe I could actually focus on studying for my math term this Wednesday.

Or I’m going to keep procrastinating by blogging.. or reading blogs…. we’ll see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

